Introduction to the City

Xiamen, belonging to Fujian Province, is also known as the Egret Island, referred to as Heron, a sub-provincial city, special economic zone, and an important central city, harbor, and scenic tourism city on the southeast coast.   Xiamen is located in southeast of Fujian Province, bordering Zhangzhou in the west, Nan`an and Jinjiang in the north, and across the sea Quemoy and Dadan Island in the southeast. People there are speaking Hokkien. It is the major city of the southern region, and Zhangzhou and Quanzhou are also known as Hokkien Golden Triangle of China.

On October 7, 1980, the establishment of Economic Special Area was approved. Xiamen has successively been approved to one of the National Synthetically Reform Testing District (the "New District") and Free Trade Zone. Xiamen has become demonstration area of cooperation between emerging industries and modern service industries across the Strait, southeast international shipping center, regional financial service centers across the strait, and trade centers across the strait. 

Xiamen is composed of Xiamen Island, Kulangsu Island, Haicang Peninsula, Jimei Peninsula, Xiang'an peninsula, Dadeng and Xiaodeng Island, Tongan District, Jiulong River, etc. The land area is 1699.39 square kilometers, sea area is over 390 square kilometers. By this century, Xiamen has become a modern international port scenic tourist city, with the world's cultural heritage , the first national 5A tourist attractions - Gulangyu .

举办地介绍

厦门,隶属于福建省,别称鹭岛, 简称, 副省级城市经济特区,东南沿海重要的中心城市、港口及风景旅游城市  厦门位于福建省东南端, 西界漳州, 北邻南安和晋江,东南与大小金门大担岛隔海相望,通行闽南方言,是闽南地区的主要城市,与漳州泉州并称厦漳泉闽南金三角经济区。
1980年10月7日,批复设立经济特区,厦门先后获批开发开放类国家综合配套改革试验区(即“新特区”),自由贸易试验区,厦门已成为两岸新兴产业和现代服务业合作示范区、东南国际航运中心、两岸区域性金融服务中心和两岸贸易中心。 
厦门由本岛厦门本岛、离岛鼓浪屿、西岸海沧半岛、北岸集美半岛、东岸翔安半岛、大小嶝岛、内陆同安九龙江等组成,陆地面积1699.39平方公里,海域面积390多平方公里。21世纪厦门逐渐成为现代化国际性港口风景旅游城市,拥有世界文化遗产、第一批国家5A级旅游景区——鼓浪屿